Feed on
Posts
Comments

Schedule

Below are the dates on which we’re scheduled to discuss particular stories in class. You should plan to post your comments on the blog before we discuss a story in class unless you would like to respond to particular ideas or comments that emerged in our class discussions. We will not have time in class to discuss every story. Nevertheless — and even because of this — you should use the blog as a means of actively responding to the stories and to your classmates’ comments.

The stories are shared via Google Drive.

2013-06-02 17.07.42

Thursday, August 29:
Introduction

Tuesday, September 3
Ford, “Sweethearts”
McCracken, “It’s Bad Luck to Die”

Thursday, September 5
Rash, “Burning Bright”
Rash, “Falling Star”

Tuesday, September 10
Robison, “Yours”
Li, “Gold Boy, Emerald Girl”

Thursday, September 12
Carver, “What We Talk About…”
Carver, “Why Don’t You Dance?”

Tuesday, September 17
Reading by Nell Boeschenstein, 4:30 p.m. Mary Cochran Library Browsing Room

Goethe, The Sorrows of Young Werther

Thursday, September 19
Goethe, The Sorrows of Young Werther

Tuesday, September 24
Stone, “Helping”

2013-05-30 16.47.53

Thursday, September 26
Earley, “Charlotte”
Ha Jin, “Love in the Air”

Tuesday, October 1
Canin, “Emperor of the Air”
Campbell, “Falling”

Thursday, October 3
READING DAY

Monday, October 7
Reading by Leslie Jamison, 4:30 p.m. Mary Cochran Library Browsing Room

Tuesday, October 8
Kawabata, “One Arm”
Tidbeck, “Beatrice”

Thursday, October 10
Strout, “Pharmacy”

Tuesday, October 15
Reading by Nathaniel Perry, 4:30 pm Mary Cochran Library Browsing Room

Ford, “Fireworks”
Ford, “Rock Springs”

2013-05-22 22.21.51

Thursday, October 17
Hempel, “The Dog of the Marriage”
Hempel, “The Most Girl Part of You”

Tuesday, October 22
Rodoreda, “Carnival”
Story due: Celia, Morgan

Thursday, October 24
Carver, “Gazebo”
Carver, “So Much Water So Close to Home”
Story due: Jenny, Carrie

Tuesday, October 29
Butler, “Snow”
Butler, “The Trip Back”
Story due: Katharine, Cassie

Thursday, October 31
Wolf, “An Episode In the Life…”
Story due: Shannon, Rebekah

Tuesday, November 5
Bausch, “Someone To Watch Over Me”
Story due: Melissa, Angel

2013-06-08 11.15.27

Thursday, November 7
Hempel, “In the Animal Shelter”
Hempel, “Nashville Gone to Ashes”
Story due: Leah, Wendy, Tatyana

Tuesday, November 12
García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera
Story due: Jenny, Carrie

Thursday, November 14
García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera
Story due: Celia, Morgan

Tuesday, November 19
García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera
Story due: Katharine, Cassie

Thursday, November 21
García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera

Tuesday, November 26 & Thursday, November 28
THANKSGIVING BREAK

2013-05-21 11.01.02

Tuesday, December 3
Story due: Shannon, Rebekah

Thursday, December 5
Story due: Melissa, Angel

Tuesday, December  10
Story due: Leah, Wendy, Tatyana

Thursday, December 12

 

 

Comments are closed.